|
Do you enjoy or are you good at Biology? (click here for the Biology Bullseye Poster)
Click here for a list of examples of where an interest in Biology can lead you, including University Courses, TAFE courses and Apprenticeships. Information provided by the IMVC in their Subject Selection Kit
Biology is the study of living things – from complex multi-cellular organisms to single celled micro-organisms. It is a study of relationships between living things, their interdependence, their interactions with the non-living environment, and the processes that maintain life and ensure its continuity. Modern biology draws on specialized fields of bioscience such as biochemistry, neuroscience, genetics, evolutionary biology, behavioural science and cell and molecular biology. It also makes connections with the disciplines of physics, chemistry, Earth and space sciences in exploring the nature of past and present life and the possibility of life forms beyond our planet. Students acquire skills of inquiry that help them to critically examine issues that arise in their own lives and the wider society, such as the implications associated with the application of biological techniques and technologies. They will be able to work collaboratively and yet state their own views from an informed position. The study of biology prepares students for continuing studies in bioscience and entry into the workforce in a wide range of careers. Much of our economic activity is generated through advances in bioscience research, in environmental, medical and associated biotechnologies, and in parallel sciences such as bioinformatics. (Extracted from V.C.A.A. Study Summary: Biology 2006-2009) Career Possibilities Related to BIOLOGY:
BIOLOGY – industry & related information
www.agrifoodskills.net.au Agri-Food Industry Skills Council – can view and order industry based career posters and photographs.
www.acupuncture.org.au Australian Acupuncture and Chinese Medicine Association – explains the different traditional forms of Chinese medicine and lists recognized courses.
www.ada.org.au Australian Dental Association – provides good career information, including a downloadable booklet – “Dentists – Part of a Caring Profession”.
www.aigroup.asn.au Australian Industry Group – General information about apprenticeships and traineeships.
www.anta.com.au Australian Natural Therapists Association – brief descriptions of different forms of natural therapies and course search for ANTA recognised courses.
www.anf.org.au Australian Nursing Federation (National) – downloadable brochure about Nursing in Australia.
www.psychology.org.au Australian Psychological Society – good career information including specialisations available and salaries.
www.ava.com.au Australian Veterinarian Association – site has a useful downloadable brochure titled “Your Career as a Veterinarian”.
www.chiropractors.asn.au Chiropractors’ Association of Australia – provides an overview of what chiropractors do and education requirements.
www.cmar.csiro.au CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research – provides information about the work done by the CSIRO in marine ecosystems and management and atmospheric research.
www.cse.csiro.au CSIRO Sustainable Ecosystems – downloadable information and facts sheets relating to CSIRO research into different types of sustainable ecosystems.
www.epa.vic.gov.au Environment Protection Authority – information about student resources and EPA programs available to schools.
www.landlearn.net.au Landlearn – excellent site providing careers information for students, case studies and curriculum resources for teachers about sustainable agriculture and natural resource management.
www.mskills.com.au Manufacturing Skills Australia – site includes downloadable information sheets on various manufacturing careers, including biotechnology.
www.minerals.org.au Minerals Council of Australia – industry overview, career pathways, apprenticeship and training information.
www.rbg.vic.gov.au National Herbarium of Victoria, Royal Botanic Gardens – education services and school partnerships information.
www.nifs.com.au National Institute of Forensic Science Australia – includes information about what forensic science involves, career and education opportunities.
www.ngiv.com.au Nursery and Garden Industry Victoria – student career information and downloadable careers brochure.
www.optometrists.asn.au Optometrists Association Australia (National) – site includes careers information about optometry and history of optometry in Australia.
www.ruralskills.com.au Rural Skills Australia – includes case studies of individuals and organisations involved in rural skills training.
www.speechpathologyaustralia.org.au Speech Pathology Australia – site has good career information, including role descriptions, scholarships and opportunities. Also a downloadable poster.
www.vifm.org Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine – provides details about forensic medicine information sessions.
www.vis.org.au Victorian Institute of Sport – profiles of VIS athletes and details of the Sportspersons in Schools and VIS Athletes Speakers programs.
www.zoo.org.au Zoos Victoria – has some good careers information about zoo keeping and hints on how to get into the field.
|
