|
Click here for a list of examples of where an interest in Accounting can lead you, including University Courses, TAFE courses and Apprenticeships. Information provided by the IMVC in their Subject Selection Kit
Accounting is the process of recording, reporting, analyzing and interpreting financial data and information which is then communicated to internal and external users of the information. It plays a key role in the successful operation and management of businesses of all sizes. The preparation and presentation of financial statements is governed by Australian Accounting Standards and guided by the Framework for the Preparation and Presentation of Financial Statements (AASB Framework). Accounting (at VCE level) focuses on the financial recording, reporting and decision-making processes of a small business at both a theoretical and practical level. Financial data and information will be collected, recorded and reported using both manual and information and communications technology (ICT) methods. This subject provides a good grounding for students going on to further studies in business and finance or with aspirations to become small business owners. Extracted from V.C.A.A. Study Summary: Accounting 2006-2009 Career Possibilities related to ACCOUNTING:
ACCOUNTING – industry & related information www.icaa.org.au Chartered Accountants Australia website. www.theinstitute.com.au Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance – Good information about the opportunities in insurance, job descriptions and salaries. www.abs.gov.au Australian Bureau of Statistics – includes downloadable classroom activities for teachers and student resources. www.acs.org.au Australian Computer Society – provides a careers portal with courses, scholarships, job descriptions and case studies. www.aicm.com.au Australian Institute of Credit Management – site provides information on courses, what the training allows you to do and job titles. www.vic.propertyinstitute.com.au Australian Property Institute – site has a slideshow focusing on careers and opportunities in property. www.cpaaustralia.com.au CPA Australia – site provides details of the role and activities undertaken by CPA Australia. www.cmis.csiro.au CSIRO Mathematical and Information Sciences – includes careers information and resources for promoting maths and statistics pathways. www.graduates.treasury.gov.au Department of Treasury - provides details about activities undertaken and recruitment procedures. www.fsunion.org.au Finance Sector Union – includes career information and industry statistics. www.fpa.asn.au Financial Planning Association of Australia – includes useful information about becoming a financial planner. www.flyhigher.com Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia – useful information for secondary students about chartered accountancy and subject selection. Also has downloadable brochures. www.nia.org.au National Institute of Accountants – information about activities undertaken by the NIA. www.rmaa.com.au Records Management Association of Australia. |
