Skip to main content

Library: Search Engine Links

Academic Search Engines

Conducting academic research is a critical process. You cannot rely solely on the information you get on the web because some of the search results are non-relevant or not related to your topic. To ensure that you only gather genuine facts and credible data for your academic papers, check out only the most trusted and incredibly useful resources for your research.

Here's a list of gratuitous and best academic search engines that can help you in your research journey.

Google Scholar is a customized search engine specifically designed for students, educators and anyone related to academics.

It allows users to find credible information, search journals, and save sources to their personal library. If you need help for your best essays, citations for your thesis and other researches, this easy-to-use resource can easily find citation-worthy materials for your academic writing

Academic Index is a scholarly academic search engine accessing only websites previously selected by teachers, librarians and other associated professionals.

AlphaMarks are the subject classified bookmarks of the Virtual Learning Resources Center.

AlphaMarks are chosen from carefully selected websites recommended by teachers and librarians.

 

 

General Reference

instaGrok is an innovative educational search engine that combines sophisticated semantic technology with an interactive user interface to make learning more engaging, personalized and fun for everyone. instaGrok is used by hundreds of thousands of students, teachers and everyday people every month.

Infotopia is Google alternative safe search engine that gives information and reference sites on the following subjects: art, social sciences, history, languages, literature, science and technology and many more.

Internet Archive, a non-profit digital library, enables users to get free access to cultural artifacts and historical collections in digital format. It contains millions of free books, music, software, texts, audio, and moving images. Capturing, managing and searching different contents without any technical expertise or hosting facilities made easier for you through this search engine.

 

Virtual Learning Resources Center - VLRC

If you're looking for high quality educational sites to explore? You must check out VLRC. This learning resource center is the best place to go when you're in search for useful research materials and accurate information for your academic requirement. It has a collection of more than 10,000 indexed webpages for all subject areas.

Educational Resources Information Center - ERIC

ERIC is a comprehensive online digital library funded by Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. It provides a database of education research and information for students, educators, librarians and the public. ERIC contains around 1.3 million articles and users can search for anything education-related such as journals, books, research papers, various reports, dissertations, policy papers, and other academic materials.

iSeek education is a go-to search engine for students, scholars and educators. It is one of the widely used search tools for academic research online. iSeek offers safe, smart, and reliable resources for your paper writing. Using this tool will help you save time, effort and energy in getting your written work done quickly.

Only2Clicks links to online news and magazines from Australia and around the world. There are also links to other resources in a wide range of areas.

How Products Are Made explains and details the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to complicated electronic equipment and heavy machinery.

AustLit aims to be the definitive virtual research environment and information resource for Australian literary, print, and narrative culture.

Research skills to help with searching, note taking, assessing resources and more.

Carrot is a search engine that organizes your search results into topics. With an instant overview of what's available, you will quickly find what you're looking for.

CIA World Fact Book

The World Fact book provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

SweetSearch helps students find outstanding information, faster. It enables them to determine the most relevant results from a list of credible resources, and makes it much easier for them to find primary sources. We exclude not only obvious spam sites, but also marginal sites that read well, but lack academic or journalistic rigor. As importantly, the very best Web sites that are often buried on other search engines appear on the first page of SweetSearch results.

Choose the Best Search for Your Information Need

Teachers Resources

L http://www.livebinders.com/welcome/homeiveBinders is taking the binder concept and continually improving it to be a leader in the next generation of content sharing. LiveBinders is the product of a close collaboration with our user community. We believe you are on the front lines of information sharing and we want to help you keep ahead of the pack. Ask us for help and we are there.

Video Resources

Encyclopaedia

Encyclopedia of Life is a compilation of scientific knowledge about all living things.

Encyclopaedia Britannica provides timely, relevant, and trustworthy information and instructional products for homes, schools, universities, libraries, and workplaces around the world.

Encyclopedia.com has more than 100 trusted sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauruses with facts, definitions, biographies, synonyms, pronunciation keys, word origins, and abbreviations. 

Dictionary

Online Language Dictionaries

Free online bilingual dictionaries and tools.
The Macquarie Dictionary Online is updated annually, making it the most up-to-date Australian dictionary and thesaurus available.
Rhymezone: Find rhymes, synonyms, definitions and more!

Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus

As an online version of Merriam-Webster's Intermediate Dictionary, it also contains a thesaurus, synonyms, related words, idiomatic phrases, and antonyms
Information Please provides reliable answers to all kinds of factual questions in an engaging and entertaining way. Browse by topic or use search function.

 

Atlas

World Atlas

World Atlas is an educational resource for world maps, atlases, and in-depth geography information.

MapMaker Interactive is created and maintained by the National Geographic Center for Geo-Education.

 

Other libraries

joining your local library and the State Library (it's free!) gives you access from home to additional resources and online databases.

The Australian Libraries Gateway (ALG) 

is a free Web-based directory service which has information about approximately 5,200 Australian libraries and cultural institutions, their collections and services. Started in March 1998, it aims to be a "one-stop-shop" directory for current information about Australian libraries and cultural institutions - a tool for world-wide users, for both information professionals and the general public.

State Library Victoria

From school assignments to academic research, family activities to family history – we can help you discover your story.

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world, with millions of items including books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.

Mitchell Shire Library

Find and get over 274,837,857 Australian and online resources:
books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more

National Library of Australia

The Library holds the greatest collection in the world of material relating to Australia and the Australian people.  It ranges from the earliest European works about the Great Southern Land to the most current publications.  The collection includes all formats of material, from books and magazines to pictures, photographs, maps, sheet music, oral history recordings, manuscript papers, ephemera and much, much more!

 

Bibliography

Cite This For Me will create your citations, reference lists and bibliographies automatically using the APA, MLA, Chicago, or Harvard referencing styles.

BibMe: BibMe is a free automatic citation creator that supports MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formatting.

 

Duck duck go

DuckDuckGo is an Internet search engine that emphasizes protecting searchers' privacy and avoiding the filter bubble of personalized search results.

Sweet Search

About SweetSearch

SweetSearch helps students find outstanding information, faster. It enables them to determine the most relevant results from a list of credible resources, and makes it much easier for them to find primary sources. We exclude not only obvious spam sites, but also marginal sites that read well, but lack academic or journalistic rigor. As importantly, the very best Web sites that are often buried on other search engines appear on the first page of SweetSearch results.